Lifetime Membership

I. The Purpose of Honorary Recognition

  1. Honorary Lifetime Memberships are granted by ALSS to recognize former administrators of Lutheran High Schools and
  2. to encourage continued relationships between ALSS and former Lutheran High School administrators.

II. The Qualifications

  1. ALSS Honorary Lifetime Membership may be granted to any retired, former Lutheran high school administrator who has faithfully served in an ALSS school and who has attended ALSS conventions.
  2. ALSS Honorary Lifetime Membership may also be granted to any individual who has made significant contributions to Lutheran secondary education whether or not he/she is retired.

III. The Procedures: Nomination, Approval, and Awarding of ALSS Honorary Lifetime Memberships

  1. Individuals may be nominated for Honorary Membership in ALSS by a dated resolution from the faculty of an ALSS school or by any head administrator of an ALSS high school.
  2. Nominations are to be submitted to the ALSS Executive Board at least two months prior to the next ALSS convention, using the ALSS nomination form. Biographical and personal information about the candidate is required.
  3. The Executive Board of ALSS will act upon their commendations/nominations received.
  4. The nomination will be endorsed by the Association of Lutheran Secondary Schools at the convention at which the membership is to be bestowed.
  5. The Honorary Lifetime Memberships will then be presented in person, or if necessary, in absentia, at the annual convention.

IV. The Benefits of Honorary Lifetime Memberships

  1. ALSS Honorary Lifetime Members will be included on the regular ALSS mailing list.
  2. Registration fees for convention and annual dues will be waived for ALSS Honorary Lifetime Memberships.
Download Nomination Form

Honarary Lifetime Membership Recipients

Year Induction Site Name
1973 St. Paul Birkman, Mr. Herbert F. *
1973 St. Paul Boettcher, Mr. Henry F. *
1973 St. Paul Choitz, Dr. John F. *
1973 St. Paul Ernst, Mr. Rudolph G. *
1973 St. Paul Freitag, Rev. Dr. Alfred J. *
1973 St. Paul Lange, Dr. Paul *
1973 St. Paul Menking, Mr. Louis *
1974 Denver Miller, Dr. Arthur L. *
1974 Denver Stelmachowicz, Rev. Dr. M.J. *
1975 Detroit Steinberg, Mr. Walter F. *
1975 Detroit Werner, Mr. Edward J. *
1976 Baltimore Sagehorn, Dr. Erwin *
1977 Cleveland Brinkman, Dr. Norman H. *
1977 Cleveland Meyer, Mr. Fred G. *
1977 Cleveland Becker, Mr. Walter F. *
1977 Cleveland Meyer, Mr. Kermit C. *
1978 St. Louis Oelschlaeger, Mr. Roy H. *
1979 New Orleans Wied, Mr. Alwin*
1982 Los Angeles Senske, Dr. Al H.
1983 Chicago Utech, Mr. Norman C. *
1983 Chicago Wessler, Dr. Martin F. *
1984 Houston Krause, Dr. Roy C. *
1985 Orlando Bredehoeft, Mr. Willis W. *
1988 Detroit Eggers, Dr. Ben *
1988 Detroit Siekmann, Mr. Vernon
1989 St. Louis Brueggemann, Mr. Wallace W. *
1989 St. Louis Hinz, Rev. Dr. Frederick *
1989 St. Louis Roth, Dr. Alfred R.
1990 Las Vegas Eggerding, Mr. Roland*
1990 Las Vegas Moldenhauer, Dr. Herbert
1991 Denver Boldt, Dr. H. James
1991 Denver Junghans, Mr. Norman *
1991 Denver Schultz, Dr. Delbert *
1991 Denver Wunderlich, Mr. Kenneth
1992 Baltimore Valleskey, Mr. Roman *
1992 Baltimore Zemke, Mr. Herman *
1992 Baltimore Von Behren, Mr. Werner *
1993 Fort Wayne Herzog, Dr. Guenther
1995 Dallas Christian, Mr. Robert
1995 Dallas Lunz, Mr. Robert
1996 Orange Storm, Mr. Robert
1996 Orange Wallace, Mr. Richard *
1996 Orange Kuxhaus, Mrs. Barbara
1997 Indianapolis Beckman, Rev. William
1997 Indianapolis Hingst, Mr. Duane
1998 Cleveland Schlueter, Mr. Ken
1998 Cleveland Schroeder, Mr. Erlen *
1998 Cleveland Wallis, Mr. Darrell H. *
1999 Portland Halm, Dr. Ray
1999 Portland Hotz, Mr. Leroy
1999 Portland Reitz, Mr. Edward *
1999 Portland Westrick, Mr. Earl
2000 San Antonio Schroeder, Mr. Melvin
2000 San Antonio Visscher, Rev. Edward *
2000 San Antonio Weiss, Mr. Fred
2001 Phoenix Brunworth, Dr. Gerald
2001 Phoenix Klatt, Mr. Richard
2001 Phoenix Moser, Dr. Carl
2001 Phoenix Schulze, Mr. Robert
2001 Phoenix Speckhard, Dr. Gerald
2003 Galveston Palmreuter, Dr. Kenneth
2003 Galveston Schmidt, Dr. Allan
2004 Las Vegas Walz, Rev. Dr. Orville C.
2005 San Diego Crisler, Paul
2005 San Diego Oesterreich, Allan
2006 Miami Gove, Richard
2007 New Orleans Buetow, Paul
2007 New Orleans Royuk, Ron
2007 New Orleans Wenger, Paul
2008 Dallas/Ft. Worth Nitz, Ralph *
2008 Dallas/Ft. Worth Schaller, Bruce
2008 Dallas/Ft. Worth Sommermeyer, David
2008 Dallas/Ft. Worth Wendt, Gerald
2009 Miami Buegler, David
2009 Miami Daley, Jeff
2009 Miami Ellwein, Ken
2009 Miami Widenhofer, David*
2011 Charleston Block, Richard
2011 Charleston Buck, Thomas
2011 Charleston Eisman, Carl
2011 Charleston Fischer, Curt
2012 Las Vegas Brauer, Norman P.
2012 Las Vegas Breseman, Perry
2012 Las Vegas Herzog, John
2012 Las Vegas Wolbrecht, Tom
2013 San Antonio Cochran, William
2013 San Antonio Juergensen, Sr., James
2013 San Antonio Marty, Larry
2013 San Antonio Marks, John
2014 Newport Beach Cooper, Dale
2014 Newport Beach Schlesselman, David
2014 Newport Beach Stueber, Ross
2015 Nashville, TN Bartlett, William
2016 Las Vegas, NV Klekamp, Patricia

* indicates those departed to glory